The LibX Library Toolbar gives you quick access to Washington University Libraries' online resources from your web browser. With LibX installed, you can search the Washington University Libraries' catalogs (both
Classic and Discovery), WorldCat.org, Full-text e-Journals, and Google
Scholar. If you reguarly use Firefox or Google Chrome, I highly recomment you check it out. Find out more @ library.wustl.edu/research/toolbar
Of note: Once you've installed LibX click on the red WU logo on the top right of your browser's toolbar in order to search the catalogs. You can also change the catalog you're searching by clicking on the name of the resource and using the drop-down menu to choose a different resource.
ArticleReach was retired in April, 2012. If you need an article not owned by WU Libraries, simply submit your request via ILLiad (http://illiad.wustl.edu/illiad/logon.html). We’ll still get it for you fast (often within 24-48 hours) and deliver it electronically as a PDF.
Interlibrary Loan will retire the ArticleReach interface soon, but speedy delivery remains! If you need an article not owned by WU Libraries, simply submit your request via ILLiad (http://illiad.wustl.edu/illiad/logon.html). We’ll get it fast (often within 24-48 hours) and email you when the article can be downloaded. Same quick delivery of PDFs, email notifications, all your ILL activities in one place – ILLiad. Contact ILL staff (firstname.lastname@example.org) for more information.
The next time you log in to RefWorks, you'll see a new login screen. The publisher of RefWorks has created a new interface for it, with new features:
• Subfolders—for creating folders within folders that keep information organized and easy to share. • Folder de-duplication—for de-duping within a single folder to remove multiple occurrences of a reference. • Limiting fields in shared items—for sharing only the desired references and information with colleagues. Account owners will be able to choose which fields to show for each share. • Combined Folders and Sharing page—for improved display on one screen. Easier than ever to manage folders and decide which ones to share. • Keyboard navigation of interface items—for compatibility with Assistive Technologies in accordance with the American Disability Act.
If you wish to use the Classic interface instead of the 2.0 interface, you can choose to do that - until the end of 2011; at that time only the 2.0 interface will remain available. To choose it, log in to your RefWorks account and choose the RefWorks Classic link at the top right of the screen. Your account will remain on the Classic interface (except for the login screen), until you choose to use the 2.0 interface by clicking that link at top of the screen when logged in to your account. Note that the features above are not available in the Classic interface.
The RefWorks login page has links to a 2.0 quick start guide, Flash tutorial, and a workbook, so you can familiarize yourself with the new interface. If you have any questions, please contact me.
"Launched in 2004 as a search engine for academic publications, Google Scholar last month added Google Scholar Citations (GSC), which lets a researcher create a personal profile showing all their articles in the Google Scholar database. The profile also shows plots of the number of citations these papers have received over time, and other citation metrics including the popular h-index, which attempts to measure both the productivity of a scientist and the overall impact of their publications. The service is currently in invitation-only beta testing, but Google intends eventually to roll it out to all researchers." Read more at Computing giants launch free science metrics.
EBSCO has released
updates to the search interface, and you'll find some changes next time
you use one of these databases:
Limiting function (full text only, peer-reviewed only) is now on the
LEFT side of the results screen
You can also change how results are sorted - by date rather than
relevance, which is now the default
The Get it! button has moved to the left side.
There hasn't been any change with functionality, only display.
Also, if you hadn't noticed it before, there is a chat box on the
right side of the results screen. This allows you to ask question of staff at the Libraries Help Desk. If you have a question, chat us up!
But please click the green arrow in that box to pop it out of the
window, as otherwise the chat box will disappear when you move to a
different screen in your database search.
Did you know that the Libraries subscribe to the database, PsycCRITIQUES? We do! PsycCRITIQUES replaced the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books as of January, 2005 and includes full text reviews of current books and some popular films, videos, and software as well as comparative reviews of books. Subscribe to the PsycCRITIQUES blog by adding this link to your RSS feed reader (http://psyccritiquesblog.apa.org/rss.xml) in order to get involved in "thought provoking discussions of books, films, and APA videos."
The Libraries have subscribed to two companion databases: Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print. MMY is a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments, covering psychology, education, business, leadership, and more. TIP is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language - and has links into MMY for the tests reviewed there. One concurrent user in each database. More info on MMY. More info on TIP.